Home

BLUE SHIFT RULES....

CaptainRAVE

I was blessed with the opportunity to play Blue-Shift this weekend. As some of you may know, it went gold a few weeks ago. A friend of mine who works for a computer store, got a promotional copy, and gave it to me. I started playing at about 12:30 last night as soon as I got home. I was quite eager to return to Black Mesa and relive the story from yet another perspective.

My expectations were very high, and I must say, I was NOT disappointed. I highly recommend this title.

The puzzles in the game are numerous and challenging. The high level of immersion is back and better than ever. The new models and engine enhancements make it visually pleasing as well. The game also does an excellent job of tieing all three titles together. For example, you remember at the very beginning of Half-Life, as Gordon Freeman is traveling along the train thing, off to the left is a security guard banging on a locked door. Guess who that security guard was. Yep, you guessed it. B. Calhoun, the star of Blue-Shift.

My only disapointment was the length. As I said, I started a new game at 12:30 last night. I beat the game early this afternoon (yes, I did go to sleep).

The CD also has some extras on it. The enhanced models and engine enhancements (the fog underwater looks very cool) can be installed for the original Half-Life and Opposing Force. The CD also comes with the full version of Opposing Force.

Despite its short length, Blue-Shift is definitely worth while.

I haven't played it yet, but am curious as to how they keep the story going? I mean it really is the same story, just from a diferent perspective. I found OF really lacking, (not to say I didn't love it), but it wasn't as good as HL.

Does Blue-Shift do well with the story?

Blue Shift starts technically before the original Half Life. You start on a tram like in Half Life, after a minute or so you pass Gordon Freeman, you can watch him board the tram behind your tram.