Home

CD in Drive to play MP?????

Saient

Let me just check here - you want to have 2 players playing on your home network, but only buy one copy? 2 users on 1 license? How is that different than me letting a friend install it and me still using it?

Perhaps I've not been adequately enlightened by the Napster era, but I find there to be some difference in the 'fair use' interpretation of me recording CD's for use in my iPod or to keep as CD-R backups for when (not if) my kids scrub the originals, versus recording a new CD I bought onto a CD-R to send to a friend to enjoy, versus recording a CD to post on my system for sharing. Similarly, I used the JK 'no CD' trick, and a MotS 'no CD crack', as I was playing them on a Toshiba Portege - no CD drive! That is different than using it to work around buying a copy.

Sorry ... off the soapbox ... as someone who does light development at my company and music as a hobby, I appreciate the effort to write code / make music, and as a scientist I also appreciate the value of intellectual property protection. While as someone who cycles computers frequently I'm opposed to the strong-arm tactics of tying software to machines, I also believe that a sensible '1 copy per concurrent user' mentality is fair.

So ... if you plan to use 2 copies at once - buy 2 copies.

txa1265: I appreciate the time and effort it takes to write code etc, but I'm not about to go out and buy 2 copies of the same game for the same family. I, too, have a home lan and hope to play JK2 on it (not bloody likely... the other comps a p200mmx :( ) and am not about to spend $200 just so I can play over lan with someone living in the same house as me.