Home

Major TLJ technical problems

EDIT: WARNING: Possibly minor (minor, minor) spoilers here. I'm talking miniscule. You've probably all played this game anyway though.

Hi all. I started playing TLJ some time ago, and due to limiting events far too numerous to mention, I am still only in Chapter 3. One of the biggest problems I've faced is a veritable onslaught of technical problems that seem determined not to let me enjoy this game. I am running Windows 2000 (and, yes, I'm fully aware that the game was designed for 95/98--the installer tells me so every time I've installed. And before you ask, yes, I have reinstalled many, many times.). Sometimes the game just crashes in completely random spots. But not only does the game crash, it takes my whole PC down with it, and the whole thing just instantly reboots. When I get everything up and running again and load my save file (which hopefully isn't too far back), the game won't necessarily crash in the same spot, but rather somewhere completely different. There are no patterns whatsoever. Furthermore, sometimes when I attempt to start the game, I get errors that some memory is missing. It recommended in the readme (I think, or maybe the FAQ) that if something like this happens to just reinstall. Well, I've done that probably almost a dozen times now. Sometimes I have to reinstall multiple times before the game will let me start. Again, there is no patter that I can see. Totally random. In fact, as I write this, I am reinstalling the game for the third time this evening. I have snuck my way into the police stations more times than I care to count at this point. On to the next problem! Sometimes unchecking "use 3d acceleration" from the preliminary game menu will allow me to start the game and will result in me not getting an error message. However, doing it this way generally results in the game loading up in a tiny little pseudo-window in the upper-left of my screen (though it's not actually a window, it's just the ga