*Soundblaster Audigy 5.1 W/1394

*ATI RadeonT 9000 Pro 64MB AGP Dual Monitor

*1.44 MB Floppy Disc Drive- Black

*Intel Pro/100 S Desktop Adapter

*Dragon Full-Tower Case (340-Watt PS)- Space Black

*Microft XP Professional

*Powerware 3110 700VA 420-Watt UPS

*KoolMaxx Video Cooling System

Now mind you, I am not that serious of a gamer, however I do love PC games and I am in dire need of a new system. Option one is to get ALIENWARE here, and option two is to build my own system with most of the same specs as above, namely the processor and hard drive make. I got someobody that is really steering me in the build your own pc direction. I've never built a PC before, so that's why I am posting this. What should I do, what should I watch out for, ETC.

well that pc would kick serious ass!

i wouldn't build your own, you end up ripping your hair out and throwing the computer out of a window. something is bound to go wrong, it always does. however if you’re a calm and patient man who doesn't mind the odd unexpected challenge and still want to give it a go, then you can't beat the satisfaction of building your own pc

i always thought ALIENWARE was a bit pricey though, i would shop round a bit more if i were you.

Well these were the pc parts I was originally ordering from Alienware.

~ Chassis: Dragon Full-Tower Case (431-Watt PS) (Saucer Silver)

~ Power Supply: Enermax EG465P-VE 431 Watt Power Supply

~ Processor/s: Dual AMD Athlon™ MP processor 2100+

~ Memory: 1GB DDR SDRAM PC-2100 w/ECC

~ Hard Drive One: 120GB Western Digital UltraATA 7200RPM 8MB Cache

~ Optical Drive One: 16/48x IDE DVD-ROM Drive w/Software MPEG-2

Decoder

~ Optical Drive Two: Pioneer DVR-A04 - IDE - DVD-RW

~ Video Card: ATI® Radeon™ 9700 Pro 128MB AGP Dual Monitor

~ Video Cooling: KoolMaxx Video Cooling System

~ Sound Card: Sound Blaster® Audigy 5.1 w/1394

~ Network Card: Intel® PRO/100 S Desktop Adapter

~ Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 500-Watt THX Speakers - Black