Home

Anyone here a programmer?

Praetorian

I'm just about to start my last 2 classes before I start taking computer programming. I will take me about a year and a half to get through all the courses. They cover Visual Basic, C+, and Java.

I've used VB 6.0 before, but I want to the get the newest verson of VB for me to use at home. I know VB.net 2003 is the latest, but what is up w/ the .net thing. Did they just add .net programability(sp?) and change the name? I'm kinda confused.

On a side note: would some one please explain to me what .net is anyway?!?!? Microsoft can't even seem to explain it. The term vaporware comes to mind.

I am a programmer, and I got VB 6.0, but I do not know a thing how to program with that. I am a c++ programmer, very good at it. I managed to program a shooting range, save a moving target.

BTW, .net refers to a network of sites, one that belongs to a group of persons usually, like a lot of the sites on LF are .net.

Originally posted by «K» Heavyarms

I am a programmer, and I got VB 6.0, but I do not know a thing how to program with that. I am a c++ programmer, very good at it. I managed to program a shooting range, save a moving target.

BTW, .net refers to a network of sites, one that belongs to a group of persons usually, like a lot of the sites on LF are .net.

I'm not sure you understand my .net question. Microsoft has this new thing coming out (well, it is out) called .net

It has something to do w/ web servers and web based applications but they don't make it clear. I'm not refering to the .net in a web address.

I'll post some of my earily VB creations when I find my disk that has them. Mostly projects from my intro to computers and programming class. (we basically skipped the computer part and just learned to program in VB6.0)

Hey, I guess I am a programer. I just graduated in May and I am qualified to be a programer, but I just have never called myself one.