Home

I found it!

Grifter_Grifts

Hello, everyone!

I'm glad to see that people still have an interest in Grim! I'm new to the game... Sort of. I'm also new to the forums. Great place you have, here! I'll contribute a hello, and a story:

I'm an avid gamer, and have countless flight sims and shooters, but almost no adventure games. To be honest, they never really interested me much... One day, in the summer of 1997, I opened my latest issue of PC Gamer Magazine and stumbled across an excellent review for an adventure game called Grim Fandango. I read it, and instantly fell in love with the game without even playing it. The storyline and images were powerful, and at that moment, the game reached out and grabbed my attention like no other. At that point in time, I was 14 and money was scarce. I would pull a copy from the shelf at the store and stare at it, only to put it back until I could afford it. Of course, when I did come across some money, it was spent on my flight sim collection, or on parts for my bike. Grim Fandango was popping into my mind less and less frequently. Eventually, it was all but forgotten...

A few months ago, I went over to my parents' house and came across a box of some of my old belongings. Stuffed in the bottom, was that 1997 issue of PC gamer. The memory of Grim Fandango immediately came flooding back, and I flipped to the middle of the issue to read it again, 10 years later. This time, it held even more fascination for me, as the curiosity had brewed subconsciously for a decade, only to be compounded, and fully realized at that exact moment in time. I had to get this game, once and for all!