Home

Freelance Musicians and The copyright Law (IN the U.S)

Da_man

I was browsing around the Audio portal on Newgrounds, thinking "is covering songs illegal, according to the copyright law?" For example, Metroidmetal.com creates new, heavy metal versions of Metroid Music. Is this copyright infringrment?

I don't think it is unless your making profit off it. Metroid Metal, for example, uses donations to keep the site running with bandwidth expensive as it is. He isn't charging for his music. Whereas, if you were selling music, that would be infringement.

Your Thoughts?

Absolutely it is. I'm a musician. When I was big into the music scene, we wanted to do a heavy version of an old song(won't name the song, as they wanted more than the album would earn for that one song). If it's owned by another person, I think you can copy up to 8 bars of music. Look at the historical case of Vanilla Ice and his use of a string of music from "Under Pressure" which sparked quite a huge case.

Look up the Fair Use Act. Covering songs may or may not fall under protection under it (you'd really have to ask a lawyer to get a set-in-stone answer on that).

As far as remixing video game songs goes, I would assume either it does, or no one is objecting to it because there are so many game remixes. VG remixes seems to be a pretty safe way to go, judging from how it's been dealt with in the past. :)

BTW what Vanilla Ice did was not a cover, it was plagiarism. ;)

It really depends on several factors.

I know that sampling a song (regardless of length) requires to be cleared with the original creators.

Many musicians these days use interpolation (taking original bars of music and altering them to create new ones) which is usually much easier to clear.

Oh, and as for Vanilla Ice, he actually settled that case out of court.

I heard that he still had to pay alot of money.

Too bad Muzak versions of Paul Simon's songs aren't illegal.