Home

GIMP Tutorials? re: blue visors

CrudeMatter

Are there any tutorials for extracting/editing textures with GIMP? I'm new to texturing and photo editing programs and to see one for the first time is kind of overwhelming. I've gotten GIMP downloaded and working... and I've extracted (perhaps improperly) a .tpc file to start from, but now I have no clue how to do what I'm trying to. I'm trying to change the red visors (verpine headband, etc) to blue.

I opened the I_VerpHBnd.tpc with KT, then saved it to my desktop. Then I opened it with GIMP. (I tried setting the path manager to GIMP, but either I pointed it at the wrong file, or it did nothing. It did not automatically open the image with GIMP. Thats why I saved the .tpc to my desktop then opened it with GIMP.)

Thats where I'm stuck. How do I change all of the appropriate sections/colors? Then how do I save it, and will not having the path manager setting correct prevent it from working?

Any help would be greatly appreciated... and thank you all for the information that got me this far. :yelhelp:

I began texture editing a while ago with the Gimp. It's a great program once you get a feel for it. Ok, first up you need to make sure that when you use Kotor Tool to extract, you extract as .tga files (usually you extract to your desktop). You should get this choice when you click extract. If not, go to your Kotor Tools tab labeled "Tools", then click options, then put a check next to the item that says convert .tpc to .tga when extracting. You can then open the texture as a .tga, wherever you extracted it to with the Gimp. Once you get that far, then you can edit the texture however you wish. Then, to get it to work in Kotor, just save it as a .tga file in your "Override" folder. :) If there's anything else, feel free to ask.