Home

Electronic DoWhackies (NSF56K/Chupacabra)

Boba Rhett

I know, I know, "Holy crap, Rhett started a thread!" Hopefully there will be a lot more of this soon. Before I continue I just wanna say how great it is to be able to once again churn out my special brand of boring yet magically whimsical threads here on a semi-regular basis. I've missed you assorted miscreants a lot!

Anyways as some of you may already know, I'm studying to become an Electronics Engineer. As such, I do a lot of tinkering with random parts that I steal from the school labs find laying around. In the last month or two I've pieced together quite a few gadgets. A stun gun (blew a hole in my thumb), radio, self-sustaining wireless driveway monitor, and even an LED Bob the Builder hat (weird yet mysteriously boring story) to name of few.

The two things I have pictures of are my Digital Thermometer and Range Finding Ultra-Sonic Transducer projects. I just wanted to show you all some of the things I've been doing so, here ya go. Any questions, comments or statements bringing my manhood into question are welcome as always. :)

Digital Thermometer

Alpha Stage:

thermstagealphakm7.jpg

Stage 1:

thermstage1fx9.jpg

Stage 2:

thermstage2ah1.jpg

Stage 3:

thermstage3xn6.jpg

Range Finding Ultra-Sonic Transducer

Alpha Stage:

transduceralphawr7.jpg

Stage 1:

transducerstage1kp8.jpg

Stage 2:

transducerstage2du9.jpg

Stage 3:

transducerstage3ci7.jpg

Could you make me a wah pedal for the guitar, please?

Because every solo needs wah wah for that pseudo-bluesy effect. Just ask Kirk Hammet.

"And bring that thing that makes it go 'Wah... wah wah wah, wah, wah.'" - Death, on Family Guy. :p

I always wondered how they made that sound with a guitar. So it's a pedal, huh?

Looks complicated. Mind explaining how they work? I can usually keep up pretty well with technical explanations.